Das Jahr 1969

Fast alle Industrienationen hatten 1969 ein starkes Wirtschaftswachstum, geringe Arbeitslosigkeit, bisweilen einen spürbaren Mangel an Arbeitskräften und steigende Nominallöhne zu Buche stehen. Zwar reichte das Wachstum des realen Bruttosozialprodukts in der EWG nicht an den Spitzenwert der japanischen Wirtschaft heran (+12,5 Prozent), erreichte mit +7,1 Prozent allerdings einen mehr als ordentlichen Durchschnittswert (Frankreich +8 Prozent, Belgien +6 Prozent, Italien und Niederlande +5 Prozent). Auf ein unterdurchschnittliches Wachstum kamen im Kreis der Industrieländer lediglich die USA (+2,8 Pro-zent) und Großbritannien (+1,2 Prozent).

Die Bundesrepublik legte im Jahr 1969 ökonomische Kennziffern vor, die fast schon an die Zeit der „Wirtschaftswunderjahre" erinnerten. Das reale Bruttosozialprodukt zog um beachtliche 8,2 Prozent an, die industrielle Erzeugung wuchs um 12,5 Prozent. An der guten Konjunktur partizipierten faktisch alle Industriezweige: Die Investitionsgüterindustrie steigerte ihre Produktion um 18,7 Prozent, die Verbrauchsgüterindustrie um 11,4 Prozent und die Nahrungs- und Genussmittelindustrie um 4,6 Prozent. In der chemischen Industrie erhöhten sich die Produktion um 11,6 Prozent (einen Aufschwung erlebte besonders die Erzeugung von Chemiefasern und Kunststoffen) und die Ausfuhren um 13,3 Prozent. Erfolgreiche Zahlen präsentierte auch der Maschinenbau. Der Gesamtumsatz wuchs rund 20 Prozent, der Export stieg um 12 Prozent. Dabei wurde die Exportliste von den Werkzeugmaschinen, gefolgt von Textil- und Büromaschinen, angeführt. Für die sehr gute gesamtwirtschaftliche Situation waren die zurückhaltenden Tarifabschlüsse, der Bankrott zahlreicher kleinerer unrentabler Betriebe (der zugleich weiter existierenden Unternehmen neuen Expansions- und Marktchancen bot), die gute Konjunktur wichtiger Wirtschaftspartner im Ausland, aber auch die positiven Begleiteffekte des Stabilitäts- und Wachstumsgesetzes und der staatlichen Konjunkturprogramme verantwortlich.

Jahresbericht 1969 (only available in German)
PDF (2,9MB)

Das Jahr 1968

Abermals wurde die Weltwirtschaft von signifikanten Differenzen zwischen den Regionen geprägt. Eine gute Konjunktur bestimmte das Wirtschaftsleben in Japan, Deutschland, Frankreich, Schweden oder auch den Beneluxländern, während etwa die Wirtschaft in den USA im ersten halben Jahr expandierte, um sich in den zweiten sechs Monaten abzuschwächen. Allerdings erzielten die meisten Industrieländer in der Produktion und ihrer Produktivität beachtliche Zuwächse. So zog die industrielle Erzeugung am stärksten in Japan an (+17,5 Prozent). Auf den weiteren Plätzen folgten die Bundesrepublik (+11,7 Prozent), die Niederlande (10,9 Prozent), Italien (+6,3 Prozent), Belgien (+6,2 Prozent), Schweden (+5,4 Prozent) und Kanada (+5 Prozent).

Der Bundesrepublik gelang es sehr schnell, die ökonomische Krise der Jahre 1966/67 zu überwinden und befand sich in den nächsten fünf Jahren wieder auf einem Wachstumskurs. Das reale Bruttosozialprodukt, das im Vorjahr erstmals in der Geschichte der Bundesrepublik negativ ausfiel, schnellte auf einen Zuwachs von 6,6 Prozent nach oben, die Anlageinvestitionen nahmen wieder um 12,1 Prozent zu (ein Wert, der seit 1955 nicht mehr erreicht wurde), die Nachfrage im Inland belebte sich und füllte die Auftragsbücher der Industrie, die ihrem Gesamtumsatz um 14,5 Prozent erhöhte. Die Unternehmensgewinne lagen um 16,8 Prozent höher als 1967 und auch der private Verbrauch mehrte sich um 5,4 Prozent. Das Produktionsergebnis pro Beschäftigten nahm in der chemischen Industrie, die ihre Nettoumsätze leicht von 9,9 auf 10,3 Milliarden DM steigerte, um 15,2 Prozent und im Maschinenbau, der bei den Nettoumsätzen annährend stagnierte (1967: 10,7 Mrd. DM; 1968: 10,4 Mrd. DM), um 4,7 Prozent zu.

Jahresbericht 1968 (only available in German)
PDF (2,7MB)

Das Jahr 1967

Die weltwirtschaftliche Entwicklung verlief 1967 regional sehr unterschiedlich. In der EWG erhöhte sich das reale Bruttosozialprodukt um 3 Prozent – ein Durchschnittswert, den etwa Italien mit 5,9 Prozent übertraf, Belgien, Luxemburg und vor allem auch die Bundesrepublik hingegen längst nicht mehr erreichten. Nach Jahren kontinuierlicher gesamtwirtschaftlicher Expansion versetzte eine (wird die Wachstumsstörung in die langfristigen Trends der westdeutschen Ökonomie eingeordnet) eher „milde Rezession" (Robert Hettlage) die Zeitgenossen in Wirtschaft und Politik nahezu in einen Alarmzustand. Ausbleibendes Wirtschaftswachstum (-0,1 Prozent), eine Arbeitslosenquote von 2,1 Prozent, die 1965 noch 0,7 Prozent betrug, eine Inflationsrate von 3,5 Prozent, die schrumpfende Industrieproduktion (der Gesamtumsatz verminderte sich um 7,4 Prozent) und ein Rückgang der Anlageinvestitionen um 8,4 Prozent signalisierten erstmals die Grenzen wirtschaftlichen Wachstums in der Bundesrepublik. Die Rezession traf insbesondere das Bauwesen, die Kraftfahrzeugindustrie, die Textilindustrie und auch den Maschinenbau, der einen Produktionsrückgang von 6,6 Prozent verschmerzen musste. (eine Exportsteigerung von 9 Prozent sorgte allerdings dafür, die Branche unter den industrieexportierenden Staaten den ersten Platz einnahm). Die chemische Industrie erwies sich dagegen als krisenresistent und erhöhte – obgleich die Kapazitäten der großen Konzerne nicht ganz ausgelastet waren - ihre Umsätze um 4,3 Prozent.

Die gesamtwirtschaftliche Situation musste auch die Großen Koalition herausfordern, die mit der „Konzertierten Aktion", der Verabschiedung des Stabilitätsgesetzes und der „Mittelfristigen Finanzplanung" sowie mit einer Reform der Finanzverfassung wirtschaftspolitische Instrumentarien beschloss, die das Gewicht des Bundes bei wirtschaftspolitischen Grundsatzentscheidungen stärkte.

Jahresbericht 1967 (only available in German)
PDF (2,8MB)

Das Jahr 1966

Messer Griesheim musste die Folgen der Fusion und die notwendigen organisatorischen Anpassungsleistungen in einem schwierigen gesamtwirtschaftlichen Umfeld erbringen. Die beiden Jahren 1966 und 1967 stehen in der Wirtschaftsgeschichte Westdeutschlands für das Ende der „langen fünfziger Jahre" (Werner Abelshauser), einer von 1949 bis 1966 reichenden Boomphase, die keine konjunkturellen Rückschläge kannte. Die ökonomischen Sonderbedingungen der Nachkriegszeit hatten endgültig ihre stimulierenden Wirkungen eingebüßt: das Potential an Arbeitskräften war ausgeschöpft, die Produktivität des Kapitals hatte zusehends abgenommen.

Seit dem Herbst erlebte die Bundesrepublik ihre erste Wirtschaftskrise, die wie ein Schock auf die vom Wirtschaftswunder verwöhnte westdeutsche Gesellschaft wirkte. Die privaten und öffentlichen Investitionen gingen merklich zurück. Nachdem die Inlandsnachfrage nach Erzeugnissen des Maschinenbaus bereits seit dem Frühjahr 1965 abebbte, nahmen seit dem Frühjahr 1966 auch die öffentlichen Tiefbauaufträge ab. In der deutschen Industrie wurde zusehends mehr produziert als verkauft. Die Überproduktions- und Absatzkrise ließ das Bruttosozialprodukt um nur noch 2,8 Prozent wachsen. Weitere Folgen waren un-vermeidlich: Zum einen erhöhte sich die Zahl der Firmenkonkurse erhöhte von 2.928 (1965) auf 3.301, zum anderen stieg die Arbeitslosenquote im zweiten Halbjahr empfindlich an. Die Zahl der Erwerbslosen schnellte von 101.476 im Juli auf 371.623 im Dezem-ber empor. Auch mit Blick auf die längerfristige Wirtschaftsstruktur steht das Jahr 1966 für einen Umbruch, da der Anteil der Beschäftigten im warenproduzierenden Gewerbe nicht mehr weiter anstieg und sich statt dessen die „Tertiarisierung" der Wirtschaft entscheidend beschleunigte.

Jahresbericht 1966 (only available in German)
PDF (2,1MB)

Das Jahr 1965

In den Industriestaaten hielt – bei länderspezifischen Unterschieden – der Trend zu einem weiteren Wachstum der wirtschaftlichen Leistungskraft an. In den USA belebte sich die Konjunktur, Frankreich und Italien zeigten sich besonders in der zweiten Jahreshälfte wirtschaftlich erholt, in Großbritannien bestimmten dagegen konjunkturelle Stagnation sowie ein Anstieg der Preise die gesamtwirtschaftliche Bilanz.

Ohne die starken Zuwächse des Vorjahres zu erreichen, setzte sich in der Bundesrepublik das stabile Wachstum fort. Die reale Zunahme des Bruttosozialprodukts um 5,3 Prozent lag deutlich über dem EWG-Durchschnitt von 3,7 Prozent. Die Erhöhung der Industrieproduktion von 6,4 Prozent entsprach dagegen nicht ganz dem Mittelwert im EWG-Raum (+6,7 Prozent), übertraf aber immerhin leicht das industrielle Wachstum in den USA (+6,1 Prozent). In jenem Jahr, in dem die Adolf Messer GmbH mit Teilen der Knapsack-Griesheim AG zur Messer Griesheim GmbH fusionierte, spielten die großen deutschen Konzerne, die aus der Entflechtung der IG-Farben hervorgegangen waren, im Kreis der weltweit größten Chemieunternehmen wieder in vorderer Reihe mit. Die Leverkusener Bayer AG (Umsatz 1965: 5,39 Mrd. DM), die Farbwerke Hoechst (5,24 Mrd. DM) und die BASF (4,05 Mrd. DM) brachten zusammen zwei Fünftel des Branchenumsatzes auf, der sich um rund 8,8 Prozent erhöhte. Im Exportgeschäft – die wichtigsten Abnehmer blieben die Staaten der EWG - dominierten unverändert die Industriechemikalien. Der Maschinenbau als größter Industriezweig war gegenüber dem Vorjahr wieder auf dem Vormarsch und steigerte seine Produktion um ca. 10 Prozent.

Jahresbericht 1965 (only available in German)
PDF (16,3MB)

Das Jahr 1964

In den nichtkommunistischen Staaten Europas nahm das Bruttosozialprodukt allenthalben stärker zu als im Jahr zuvor und erreichte einen Zuwachs von rund 5 Prozent. Von Italien abgesehen, nahm ferner die industrielle Produktion überall zu. Die schwache Konjunktur Italiens sowie Frankreichs waren maßgeblich dafür verantwortlich, dass sich das durchschnittliche Wachstum in der EWG gegenüber den vergangenen zwölf Monaten verlangsamte.

In der EWG nahm die Volkswirtschaft der Bundesrepublik, die sich gegenüber dem Vorjahr wieder kräftiger entwickelte, eine Spitzenposition ein. Die westdeutsche Zuwachsrate des realen Bruttosozialprodukts von 6,5 Prozent wurde 1964 von keinem anderen Mitgliedsstaat erreicht. Darüber hinaus hatte die Bundesrepublik den geringsten Preisanstieg und als einziger EWG-Staat hohe Ausfuhrüberschüsse vorzuweisen. Westdeutschland behauptete im Welthandel mit einer um 11,3 Prozent gestiegenen Ausfuhr seinen zweiten Platz hinter den USA. Bemerkenswert waren ferner der sprunghafte Anstieg des privaten Verbrauchs um rund 8 Prozent und die hohen Anlageinvestitionen, die um 14,3 Prozent zunahmen. Die Industrieproduktion nahm insbesondere im zweiten und vierten Quartal deutlich zu. Der Gesamtumsatz in der chemischen Industrie wuchs um rund 10 Prozent, wobei die Produktion von Kunststoffen nicht nur in der Bundesrepublik deutlich expandierte. Bei den Ausfuhren, die sich um etwa 14 Prozent erhöhten, standen die Industriechemikalien vor Kunststoffen und Pharmazeutika an der ersten Stelle. Im Maschinenbau verringerte sich die Produktionsmenge um 3,3 Prozent, ihre Wert nahm allerdings um 0,2 Prozent ab. Da sich der Export in die EWG beschleunigte, stieg die Gesamtausfuhr der Branche um 6,6 Prozent an.

Jahresbericht 1964 (only available in German)
PDF (9,4MB)

The year 1969

In 1969, almost all industrialised nations enjoyed strong economic growth and low levels of unemployment, in some cases having to deal with a noticeable shortage of workers and rising nominal wage costs. While the rise in gross national product in real terms in the EEC failed to match the highest jump, that of the Japanese economy (+12.5 percent), at +7.1 percent it still achieved a more than respectable average value (France +8 percent, Belgium +6 percent, Italy and the Netherlands +5 percent). Within the group of industrialised countries, only the USA (+2.8 percent) and Great Britain (+1.2 percent) fell below the average growth figure.

In 1969, the Federal Republic recorded key economic ratios which came close to recalling the time of the "years of the Economic Miracle". Gross national product rose by a healthy 8.2 percent in real terms, with industrial production rising by 12.5 percent. Indeed, all branches of industry played their part in ensuring the robust health of the economy: the investment goods industry upped its production by 18.7 percent, the consumer goods industry by 11.4 percent and the foodstuffs and luxury goods industries by 4.6 percent. In the chemicals industry, production increased by 11.6 percent (with the production of chemical fibres and plastics in particular experiencing an upturn) and exports were up 13.3 percent. Mechanical engineering also presented successful figures. Overall, sales rose by 20 percent with exports up 12 percent. At the top of the exports ladder were machine tools, followed by textiles machinery and office machines. The factors responsible for this extremely healthy situation in the general economy were: modest wage agreements; the bankruptcy of numerous smaller and unprofitable operations (which at the same time offered existing companies new options for expansion and market opportunities); the healthy economy of important economic partners abroad; the positive concomitant effects of the legislation on stability and growth; and the national economic programmes in place.

Annual report 1969 (only available in German)
PDF (2.9MB)

The year 1968

Once again, the global economy was characterised by significant regional differences. A sound economy characterised the economic situation in Japan, Germany, France, Sweden and the Benelux countries as well, while the economy in the USA expanded in the first half of the year only then to fall away in the second six months. Nevertheless, most industrialised countries achieved respectable growth in production and productivity, with industrial production rising most strongly in Japan (+17.5 percent). The next rungs on the ladder were occupied by the Federal Republic (+11.7 percent), the Netherlands (10.9 percent), Italy (+6.3 percent), Belgium (+6.2 percent), Sweden (+5.4 percent) and Canada (+5 percent).

The Federal Republic did not take long to put the economic crisis of 1966/67 behind it, embarking on a path for growth which was to last for the next five years. Gross national product in real terms shot upwards, with growth of 6.6 percent after having recorded a negative figure the previous year (for the first time in its history), capital investments increased again by 12.1 percent (a value not achieved since 1955) and domestic demand picked up and filled industrial order books, with industry increasing overall sales by 14.5 percent. Corporate profits were 16.8 percent higher than in 1967 and private consumption also increased by 5.4 percent. Production output per employee rose by 15.2 percent in the chemicals industry, which increased its net sales slightly from DM 9.9 to DM 10.3 billion, and by 4.7 percent in mechanical engineering, which came close to stagnation in terms of net sales (1967: DM 10.7 billion; 1968: DM 10.4 billion).

Annual report 1968 (only available in German)
PDF (2.7MB)

The year 1967

In 1967, development of the global economy varied greatly in different regions. In the EEC, gross national product rose by 3 percent in real terms - an average value exceeded by the likes of Italy (with 5.9 percent), whilst Belgium, Luxembourg and, above all, the Federal Republic came nowhere near achieving this figure. After years of continued expansion in the general economy, a rather "mild recession" (Robert Hettlage) - assuming this interruption in growth is counted as a long-term trend in the West German economy - set the alarm bells ringing amongst economists and politicians of the day. The absence of economic growth (-0.1 percent), an unemployment figure of 2.1 percent, which in 1965 still stood at 0.7 percent, a rate of inflation of 3.5 percent, shrinking industrial production (overall sales down by 7.4 percent) and a slump in capital investment (down 8.4 percent) provided the first indications of the limitations to economic growth in the Federal Republic. The recession was particularly hard on construction, the automotive industry, the textiles industry and also mechanical engineering, which had to come to terms with a fall in production of 6.6 percent, although an increase in exports of 9 percent ensured that this sector occupied the leading position among the industrial exporting countries. On the other hand, the chemicals industry proved to be resistant to crisis, increasing its sales by 4.3 percent, although production capacities available to the major groups were not quite used to their full extent.

The general economic situation also represented a challenge for the "Grand Coalition" of Social Democrats and Christian Democrats, which turned to instruments of economic policy with its "Concerted Campaign", passing the Stability Act and adopting a "medium-term financial plan", as well as reforming the financial system. This bolstered the federal structure in terms of decision-making in fundamental economic policy.

Annual report 1967 (only available in German)
PDF (2.8MB)

The year 1966

Messer Griesheim had to handle the consequences of the merger and the necessary organisational adjustments within what was generally a difficult economic environment. In the economic history of West Germany, the two years 1966 and 1967 represent the end of the "long 1950s" (Werner Abelshauser), a boom period which had lasted from 1949 until 1966 without any economic setbacks. The special economic conditions of the post-war period had lost their stimulating effects for good: the potential workforce was exhausted and capital productivity had fallen away considerably.

Since the autumn, the Federal Republic had been undergoing its worst economic crisis, with this coming as a shock to the West German population, spoiled as it had been by the Economic Miracle. There was a noticeable slump in both private and public investment. With domestic demand for products in the mechanical engineering sector having been on the wane since as early as the spring of 1965, the spring of 1966 now also saw a decline in public civil engineering orders. In German industry, considerably more was being produced than was being sold. This overproduction and sales crisis resulted in gross national product growing by a mere 2.8 percent. Other consequences were inevitable: for one, the number of corporate bankruptcies increased from 2928 (1965) to 3301, with the unemployment rate in the second half-year also rising significantly. Unemployment figures shot up from 101,476 in July to 371,623 in December. 1966 represents a turning point for the longer-term economic structure as well, as the proportion of the workforce employed in the goods-producing sector was now no longer rising, and the existing trend was being superseded by the development of the service sector in the economy.

Annual report 1966 (only available in German)
PDF (2.1MB)

The year 1965

With the exception of some country-specific variations, the trend for further growth in economic capacity continued in the industrialised nations. The economy in the USA picked up and, in the second half of the year in particular, France and Italy staged an economic recovery, although in Britain the overall economic balance was adversely affected by economic stagnation and price rises.

Without achieving the strong rates of growth from the previous year, stable growth still persisted in the Federal Republic. At 5.3 percent, the increase in gross national product in real terms was clearly above the average of 3.7 percent for the EEC. Conversely, the increase in industrial production of 6.4 percent did not quite correspond to the average value throughout the EEC (+6.7 percent); however, it did slightly outperform industrial growth in the USA (+6.1 percent). In this year in which Adolf Messer GmbH merged with parts of Knapsack-Griesheim AG to form Messer Griesheim GmbH, the major German groups which had been created after the demerger of IG-Farben were once again amongst the leaders in the group of the world's largest chemicals companies. Leverkusen-based Bayer AG (sales 1965: DM 5.39 billion), Farbwerke Hoechst (DM 5.24 billion) and BASF (DM 4.05 billion) combined accounted for two fifths of all sales in the sector, with this figure rising by some 8.8 percent. In exports - where the main customers remained the EEC countries - industrial chemicals continued to dominate. In contrast with the previous year, mechanical engineering as the largest branch of industry was again forging ahead, increasing its production by around 10 percent.

Annual report 1965 (only available in German)
PDF (16.3MB)

The year 1964

In the non-Communist countries of Europe, gross national product rose across the board more strongly than in the previous year, reaching a growth figure of around 5 percent. Apart from in Italy, industrial production also continued to rise. The poor economic situations of both Italy and France were largely responsible for the slowdown in the average rate of growth in the EEC compared with the previous 12 months.

Within the EEC, the leading position was assumed by the Federal Republic which, once again, performed more strongly than in the previous year. At 6.5 percent, the rate of growth in gross national product for West Germany was matched by no other member state in 1964. In addition, the Federal Republic returned the lowest rise in prices and was the only EEC country to generate high export surpluses. In global trade, with exports up by 11.3 percent, West Germany cemented its second place behind the USA. Other notable features were the surge of around 8 percent in private consumption and the high level of capital investments, which increased by 14.3 percent. The second and fourth quarters in particular saw industrial production increase significantly. Overall sales in the chemicals industry rose by around 10 percent; however, it was not only the Federal Republic which experienced a distinct rise in the production of plastics. In terms of exports, which rose by around 14 percent, the leading position was occupied by industrial chemicals, ahead of plastics and pharmaceuticals. In mechanical engineering, production volume fell by 3.3 percent; however, the value of this did rise by 0.2 percent. With exports into the EEC gathering speed, overall exports in the sector rose by 6.6 percent.

Annual report 1964 (only available in German)
PDF (9.4MB)